top of page
Writer's pictureDianyvet Serrano

Plants...The basics

So, who doesn't love plants!? Well.. I know you plant killers are not about them but nobody can argue against the benefits of plants:


  1. They're Beautiful

  2. They Purify your air

  3. They Help to deter illness

  4. They Keep Oxygen flowing and carbon dioxide absorbed


But how do you become one of those non-killer plant folks? AND How do you afford having your own "Urban Jungle"?


I am going to outline the basics of these questions, but first- let me give you a tour of my own jungle:-)


This is my Pothos or Devil's Ivy. This one started off as a foster child to take care of for a friend and it is now one of my faves! It has prospered so much!


Water: once a week


Light: Not direct but good light







This one is my Money Tree! I bought it from Aldis. I forgot the price but less than $10 for sure! She's a cutie and came with the pot which saves monies- although I don't love the pot.


Water: twice a week


Light: not too much light















This is my Song of Jamaica! I got her from IKEA about 6 months ago for $2. She's grown a good amount since then:-) I bought the planter from 5 Below!


Water: twice a week


Light: direct sun. I think she could do with less sunlight but I have yet to figure out where I can put her for that-_-.











This is my orchid! My momma gave me this one like 2 years ago maybe. This is the beauty of it currently thanks to it being Springtime:-)


Water: I apply 2 ice cubes a week to this orchid. People may say that ice cubes do not work because orchids like to be warm but it has worked for me- probably thanks to the light it also gets


Light: I have her sit at the window with a lot of light!








This is my mint plant that I got as a tiny herb from whole foods like 4 or 5 years ago! This was my first plant. This is all new regrowth because it was dying and I had to chop off the old to bring in the new!


Watering: I water him everyday pretty much. Mint plants like to stay nice and wet:-)


Light: I have him in direct sunlight and always have









I need help with my basil! My friend gifted me this growing kit and she's not prospering. I am supposed to have her stay moist but only watering once a week...but she gets dry SO fast so leave a comment if you have any idea of how to mend this situation! I've had her since Christmas.


SAME QUESTION FOR MY SAGE PICTURES AS THE MAIN PIC FOR THIS POST!









My lovely Elephant bush. People call this jade I believe too but the thought of elephants eating from this brings me joy so I am calling it Elephant bush hehe. I got her from IKEA and she was $12


Water: once bi-weekly


Light: Not direct but a lot of light












Bird of paradise! Ain't she a beauty?Again, from IKEA and $20


Water: once weekly, I also spray her like bi-weekly


Light: not direct but a lot of light. She likes the warmth













This is my Dwarf Umbrella. She is my newest plant and was bought from Trader Joes for $15. She was meant to bring me joy in the quarantine.


Water: once a week


Light: not direct but a good amount of light.











Now for the tips!


  • Do your research as to where your plants are from! If your plant is from the desert, it doesn't want much water. Choices for this would be an Aloe or Cactus. If it's from the tropics, it may do well in the bathroom where it is the most humid. Choices for this would be a Fern, Chinese evergreen, Peace lily, Philodendrons, Bamboo

  • Get the right Materials! Get both types of potting soil; a well-drained soil rich in sand (for cacti, succulents and the associated dry-type of houseplants), and a moister soil for most other houseplants, especially the tropical ones. Get Fertilizer (I suck at this but my plants would be happier if I didn't). Have drainage for your plants! (like rocks or trays or plates) Have a watering can- get a pretty one to make this more fun:-). Pots on pots on pots. If you plan to propagate plants, you especially want these things handy. Mister spray- you can also use a spray bottle like me! HOWEVER, accepting a beautiful mister spray can as a gift for anyone who is giving:-)

  • Think about what may affect the plants you have before placing them in your house. For example, are they safe for pets or children? Are they too high maintenance for your life? Do you have a lot of light/humidity in your house? My house is usually kinda cold and has A LOT of light everywhere except the entrance hallway and bathroom so I have to think of that when buying plants. Many of my plants are actually bad if consumed by my dog so I make sure to have them in places where he cannot get to them.

  • Figure out how to water! But when in doubt, DON'T WATER! Over watering kills plants way faster than not watering so don't drown the puppies:-) Test the soil with your finger before watering. And avoid placing your plant next to a heater or any cold area like in front of a fan. Any drastic changes in temperature will kill a plant. I killed a beautiful palm thanks to placing it under my heater vent:-(.

  • Listen to your plant! Dry tips are a sign that the air is being too dry for your plant. This can be due to a lot of sunlight or a heat source. You can either relocate or mist your plant to listen to it-)

I hope these tips were helpful! I also have two aloe plants that are not pictured above and many vases with dried eucalyptus or babies breath. Those are my fave and I get the stems from Trader Joes.


Have a wonderful peak of the week!


-eudaemonia


268 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page