top of page
Writer's pictureDianyvet Serrano

Build a Bench!



Happy Friday! I struggled getting a good picture for this post because my phone is taking the worst photos right now, so I will used this old one and kept it moving. So sorry about the lettering -_-. I'm starting to think I may need a real camera for this blogging life.


ANYWHO...

Back to the main content... If you've been to my house, you've seen this bench. And that is because it is one of my FAVORITE DIYs that I've done. And it is SUPER easy to do!


Before you begin, BUY THE MATERIALS!(duh lol)

You will need:

  • A plank of wood: I got THIS one from Home Depot but you can get whichever you wish! As long as it has not been exposed to water and it is thick enough for your screws, it should be fine. Home Depot is awesome because if you're like me and do not have a saw or any power tools, they will cut it to the size of your desire for the FREE FREE! FYI, I was able to build TWO benches with this one plank of wood.

  • A leg kit: I got THESE from amazon. There are cheaper ones, but I decided to "splurge" because these had good reviews and I honestly am super happy with them. They came with everything needed to instal besides the drill.

  • A drill: The only info I have here is get a drill from a trusted brand that is known for making good drills. My first drill was the IKEA drill because of it's wonderful price. I'm all about saving, but that drill was a waste of money. I have THIS drill, again from amazon.

  • Sand sponge: Now, if you have a power sander, this job will be done WAY quicker and more efficiently but that is not my case. I got my sander sponge from dollar tree and it worked well for this project.

  • Stain: You can choose whatever color you wish. I went with a natural stain from Home Depot again.

  • A Paint Brush: You can also use a cloth or a sponge brush as well. The bristle brush that I used from dollar tree is great for keeping the natural grainy feel of the wood.

  • Something to paint on: I used trash bags cut up to be larger but whatever you have works. Just don't ruin anything nice in your house:-)


NOW FOR THE STEPS!:



Phase 3: Stain second side! (not pictured)


HAVE FUN! THIS PROJECT IS AWESOME AND SIMPLE:-) If you're not convinced by the beauty of the final product...

think about the fact that you can save AT LEAST $120 doing this bench on your own. My total price for this project was about $65 but I would predict with shipping due to COVID, it would be more like $80. Either way, this is basically free in comparison to the $200 that it cost to buy a similar one from Wayfair that is actually a foot smaller.

36 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page