top of page
Writer's pictureDianyvet Serrano

ROUTINES and WHY they are so important



What are your goals? What are your aspirations? Have you developed the habits needed to attain them? Well, I can tell you- I HAVEN'T! But I am in the pursuit of living a goal informed life and to get there, I must get my routine right.


How many of you all have felt like...ERM, "WHY IS TIME GOING BY SO FAST?!" Or thought you would be able to accomplish SO much while being at home but haven't actually accomplished all that much. Well, SAME. This post is to provide as a guide to develop a routine that you will stick with and as a reminder of why you should develop routines, but please keep in mind that I am not shaming anyone for not being able to hold on to their routines EVERY DAY. Keep trying. Add new things. And I will add new things as I discover new ways to develop my own routine.


Some things to keep in mind as we do this:

  1. Simply find a sense of a routine: It does not have to be 100% done every day but do most of it and make sure to keep trying.

  2. Remember to incorporate self-care!: Everyone needs breaks. If your daily schedule does not have a portion that is 100% for you, go back to edit.

  3. Insure that EACH day has a moment where you engage with the place of joy and play that is inside of you: We all have some child in us. Make sure you remember the child within. LAUGH. Find a funny show or movie to watch. Use the app Frankly or House Party to have fun with friends and family.

  4. Prepare yourself for life after Quarantine: Remember that life will happen again as it were. Which means, you will have to wake up early again. And take showers again. Don't loose those habits!

  5. Ground your daily routines in what your overall goal is: Remember that goals will be easier to attain if you do small things everyday to get to them!


The following is a list of things that I have incorporated in my daily quarantine routine to reach the goals I have. Keep in mind, we all have different goals. Some of my goals are to:

  • Exercise my creativity

  • Broaden my knowledge on arts, success and education

  • Live a healthy life both mentally and physically

  • Get better at being a mom to my plants and dog

  • Being a better partner

  • Overcoming anxiety

  • Help others

  • Strengthen my spiritual life


These are just a few. And I am sure I will add more as I grow and learn more. Your goal can just be one and I actually would push you to focus on way less than my list above. I have pushed myself to do the following things EVERYDAY in order to work towards my goals.

  • Wake up by 8:30am - do at least 3 yoga poses in bed during this time!

  • Get out of bed by 9:30am

  • Eat Breakfast by 10:30am

  • Plan for day and complete a 1 page journey entry about the day before by 11am

  • News at 12pm (weekdays)

  • Lunch by 2pm

  • Dinner by 6:30pm

  • Bed by midnight

What happens in between or during these times change but I push myself for this general schedule. My journal entries are creative and incorporate word art with my daily mantras. This helps me with my goal of creativity, overcoming anxiety and strengthening my spiritual life (my mantras are mainly spiritual and taken from previous Sunday sermons). Sometimes, I go to bed later than midnight but I am currently working on perfecting my nightly routine to get my mind and body better prepared for rest.


As most of my post, I will continue to add more resources as they come to me and I hope that this post, in whatever stage it may be in, is of help to you. Below is a sample schedule I've made to guide me in developing my daily schedule. Each day, I write down the specific schedule of the day but this one helps me to understand a general make-up of the day. 10pm is meant as the beginning of my bed routine.



13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page