top of page
Writer's pictureDianyvet Serrano

Meditation Meditation Meditation


Happy Tuesday ya'll! Hope everything is well. If you're living in MA you just received the news that schools will be closed for the remaining of the year which may have caused a little bit of anxiety or feelings of just pure------------>>>>>>>>>





While all of this is super hard, something that has given me some peace before and during the pandemic is MEDITATION. I've noticed that many people assume that meditation can only look like this...

That is, crossed legs, eyes closed, Buddhist, great posture and a serene environment. And well, I CALL FAKE NEWS! Meditation can be a shower. It can be cooking. It can be a walk. It can be guided. Or it can be chanting sutras. Meditation, is simply focusing as much as possible on a singular POSITIVE object, task or thought.

Here is a list of meditation resources that have been helpful for me:

  1. HeadSpace- this app has been a LIFESAVER for me. I love that there is an endless supply of meditation resources from sleeping music to courses on happiness and appreciation. Due to COVID-19, a portion of the app is free but if you are a student OR educator, the app is 100% free ALWAYS! Just use your school's email.

  2. Guided Meditation- Here is a really awesome guided meditation that I do every so often. Guided meditations help me most when I am very distracted. This one in particular is great because she does not stop speaking. At times, it can be difficult to rely on myself to remember to focus even for 10 seconds at a time. This meditation holds me accountable to be focused the entire time.

  3. Schedule a Meditation!- The Greater Boston Area Zen Meditation Center is a great option for FREE mediation classes. Right now, they've gone to zoom for their classes but check back for in person classes once this COVID-19 life is over!

  4. Recite Sutras- I received my Sutra book thanks to GBZC but I am positive you can get some awesome examples online. At the bottom of this post, there is an example of one of my favorite sutras (page 11). You are instructed to recite the sutra with praying hands and a bow at the end. But DO YOU!

  5. Cooking- For me, cooking is so great because it allows me to be strictly focused.

  6. Listening to Music- Music on low (especially gospel music for me or my ) while looking out the window is a wonderful way to wind down and be mindful.

  7. Reading- Remember, meditation is about focusing on ONE thing. Reading OUT LOUD allows for exactly this. It is physically impossible for us to think about anything else when reading out loud so get an interesting book:-).

  8. Draw or Color- Coloring in particular takes away the thoughts of what you will produce and just allows you to focus on moving that hand of yours. Simple task are wonderful for meditation!

Hope this post was helpful. If it was, don't forget to share it and comment below! This is YOUR community. Now, aspire to be the best you. <3


Aspiration Prayer (by Larry Yang, from Awakening Together; adapted) May I be as loving in this moment as I can. If I cannot be loving in this moment, may I be kind. If I cannot be kind, may I be nonjudgmental. If I cannot be nonjudgmental, may I not cause harm. • And if I cannot not cause harm, • may I cause the least harm possible. <bow>

20 views

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Clara Ruiz
Apr 22, 2020

This blog is awesome, thank you so much for the information. I really enjoy the Aspiration Prayer!!

Love your blog!💜

Like
bottom of page